Delaying The Inevitable…

So I know I’ve been tweeting for the past few days about how hard it is to kill a character and how painful it felt killing a part of yourself…

Image

But while I’ve already written the entire death scene(almost a full chapter length if you count the build up) it just isn’t sticking well to the chapter before…

Originally I’d planned this death scene to be “chapter 5”, but as it just doesn’t sit well with how chapter 4 ended, I’ve been forced to push it back a chapter or a chapter and a half.

“But Max,” You ask, “If the scene doesn’t fit with the rest of the story, why kill the character?”

Well, I can tell you something about it;
Time travel, while it doesn’t take a major role in the story, is EXTREMELY important when it does happen, and unfortunately, that particular character is dead in the future, and it died during an event that happened in the beginning of book one(The point I am at now), so he must die.
If he doesn’t, it’ll create a paradox which will unravel not only future events, but the entirety of the series!

Image

FEAR NOT! for there is a simple fix!
I’m just pushing the death slightly back, and will do some character development for my female lead(In the form of a flash back explaining a few things about her).
Give me a chance to work on female characterization, which she desperately needs…

However, the dying character(Won’t tell you who!) isn’t actually getting a life extension, since the events I’ll write about already happened in the past(sometime before the start of book 1), so his death will still happen according to schedule.
It’s only you guys who’ll have to plod along for an entire chapter and a half before finding out who dies and how(I wrote it in such a way that up until the last moment, you can’t tell which of the character dies(And no, I simply wrote “he” because in Hebrew, when you refer to both sexes, you use the male suffix(?) I’ve no idea how to say it, since my control of the English language isn’t perfect, and I still find myself confused about certain words).

I’m pretty proud of myself that I managed to do it like that.

I think that what I’m trying to say is that if your death scene doesn’t quite feel like it sticks, maybe try pushing it back a chapter or two, and work on some characterization instead.

Yeah, I’m pretty useless when it comes to thinking up tips…

This entry was posted in Book updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delaying The Inevitable…

  1. Pingback: Novel update | Missing Title

Leave a Reply

