Sleep Writing

So apparently I have a useless talent(or awesome one. You be the judge of that).

Whenever I’m really, really tired, I can’t fall asleep immediately. So I usually doze off, wake up, doze off again, repeat a few times, and only then will I fall asleep,

So last night I came home, and no one was around.
I almost shouted for joy, because it meant I could get some writing done at home(something I’m incapable of doing, due to various reasons). So I prepped for at least two hours of writing;
1) sit at desk
2) wear headphones
3) open your notebook and pen
4) begin writing.

Fifteen minutes into my session, I noticed something odd;
random words/phrases/sentences were appearing, in a writing that was slightly sloppier than mine.
Along with those words, I noticed weird “skips” in the music.

Something was up.

I set up the webcam to record me, and sure enough, I was dozing off mid sentence.
However, instead of a long deep line going across the page, I was literally sleepwriting(I won’t post that vid, because my house is a mess at the moment…)
Not only that, but it seems like my sleeping brain keeps capitalization, and didn’t like some of the words he used.

Here are some of the things I wrote in my sleep:

“Kick up us, some Italian”
“God’s levia”(I’m guessing my subconscious was trying to write leviathan)
“Start raining yo” started(this word’s part of the story) “Katix”
“The father”
“in case hard”
“Mr. How”

So yeah, my brain is somewhat weird…
But hey! at least that means that writing is hardwired into my subconsciousness, and that is pretty damned awesome.

This entry was posted in Book updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleep Writing

  1. Denise says:

    Great talent – wish I had that and could save some time. How come you can’t write at home – sounds like it makes life a bit hard?

    • Max Wyght says:

      Thanks for the reply 🙂

      As to why I can’t write at home…
      Well, I have issues with family members standing over my shoulder and looking at what it is I’m doing.

      The complete explanation will be in a future post once I figure out how to word it without it sounding too offensive to anyone…

      Also, I can’t honestly say that my family approves of me writing;
      They’d rather I spend my spare time studying to get into a university.

      • Denise says:

        Well, keep at it. The important thing is to love what you do. Uni is the same – you have to find what interests you and then it is easy. Otherwise it is a struggle. You are doing really well and sound very committed to your writing and I would be proud of that in one of my children.

  2. Morgan says:

    Either that or you are channeling someone ;o 🙂 In which case, they could be an awesome writer too LOL

    • Max Wyght says:

      Thanks a lot for the comment.

      And I really hope I’m not channeling anyone…
      The whole idea of someone beyond the grave using my brain to write things sounds…. Creepy.

Leave a Reply

